Relationship Analysis: Martha Rogers and Chet Palaburn

These past few days, I’ve been missing Castle, so I’m re-watching some of the episodes. I wasn’t choosing the episodes by order, I just chose episodes that I remembered watching.

castle logo

Castle follows Nathan Fillion as Richard Castle, a famous mystery novelist who has killed off the main character in his book series and has writer’s block. He is brought in by the NYPD for questioning regarding a copy-cat murder based on one of his novels. He is intrigued by this new window into crime and murder and uses his connection with the Mayor to charm his way into shadowing Detective Kate Beckett, played by Stana Katic. Castle decides to use Beckett as the model for Nikki Heat, the main character of his next book series. Beckett, an avid reader of Castle’s books, initially disapproves of having Castle shadow her work, but later warms up and recognizes Castle as a useful resource in her team’s investigations.

I’ve been contemplating for the last few months, how am I going to do a relationship analysis of a TV series. At first, I thought I couldn’t because in order to do that, I figured I need to re-watch several episodes, observe everything, set aside all my personal opinions of the show and start from scratch and I can only write about shows that already ended.

Luckily, while I was watching, I was fortunate to encounter Martha’s romance with Chet from the start up until he died.

Martha-S6-1 Martha Rodgers is Richard Castle’s mom and Alexis Castle grandmother. She has a free and restless spirit that is always having a hard time settling down with someone permanently. It’s not exactly her fault, her last ex-husband stole all her life savings, from what I remember I believe she had three ex-husbands, please correct me if I’m wrong. From the first episode up to the next, she’s always looking for the next one. She’s fun, and wise despite having shortcomings as a mother.

Martha met Chet again through MyFace, which Alexis helped her set up.

Throughout the episodes, I’ve noticed, she never had a permanent and guaranteed feelings for Chet, she’s fun, always flighty and unsure which is also because of her insecurities, but Castle helped her overcome those from time to time. Castle also mentioned how the Rodgers women always follow their heart. In fact, the person who accepted the invitation is Castle, not her.

They dated for a few months, and she agreed to move in with him after listing the pros and cons which I agree with Alexis that it’s too soon.

In the Season 3, He’s Dead She’s Dead episode, Chet proposed, but Martha wanted to break up because the thrill and the chemistry is gone for a while even if she loves him.

Martha doesn’t have a healthy *lovemap because she replied to Alexis line, that relationships take work. She said, “Love is not about work. It’s about passion. It’s about chemistry. Romance.”

Castle said, “It’s about your heart pounding faster because you can’t wait to see her.”

ChetChester Palaburn is Martha’s former boyfriend from high school. According to her, he is the star athlete, class president, homecoming king, Martha’s high school sweetheart, and her first from the episode Kill the Messenger.

Martha moved in with him and eventually proposed to her, but he suffered a stroke that night.

To Chet, Martha is the great love of his life.

The information on Chet is not enough to make a conclusion, but if Castle is right that Chet loved Martha for who she is, then he must have a healthy *lovemap because based on his actions in their relationship. He took the next level in their relationship, dating, moving in, and getting married. And also because he might not have unrealistic expectations in the relationship. Even though the chemistry, thrill, passion, and romance is gone, he still wants to be with her. So just maybe.

Alexis in the series is still young, which results in high expectations, but wise and mature beyond her years. I absolutely agree with her, and those comments from the adults hit me the wrong way.

Out of all the shows I gave up watching because of the series of lies, and craps in their scripts, Castle is the only show I stayed watching. Because I believe they portrayed the romance of Castle and Beckett just right. Their relationship is not just about chemistry, romance, passion, and thrill, it’s more.

I have yet to re-watch the old episodes and re-watch the future episodes with a critical and analytical eye and make an observation if all the characters matured with the show, and are not spouting about what love is all about.

Although, what was shared above were merely opinions of the characters, billions of people are watching this show, and some of them shares Alexis age or younger. It’s not a good show to watch for children to learn that love is all about romance, chemistry, passion, and thrill.

Of course, I know that people will eventually and effectively learn from experience, but there are people who learned by observing, watching, and lives vicariously through other people’s lives and I’m one of them. I don’t want to say this, but if people are going to watch this kind of show, it should be watched by adults, so adults can correct everything that is not true in the script.

I’ve been watching Castle for the last six years, I met the fans, spent hours chatting with them for 3-4 years, spoke with some of the writers of the show, and included in live interviews of other writers from CastleTV.net

Aside from properly writing the romance between Castle and Beckett, I also love the way the writers work together when they’re writing the scripts. If you want to know more, just go to the website I shared above.

Thank you for reading my post.

So far, this is my only complaint about the show, I still love Castle as a character, so I’ll still watch. I do remember that aside from Beckett and Castle, they also did something right with their other couples in the show.

*Thusly marked words are defined on this LINK.

2 thoughts on “Relationship Analysis: Martha Rogers and Chet Palaburn

Leave a Reply

