An Author Interview with Mika Jolie

Mika Jolie is a Women’s Fiction, Chick Lit and Contemporary Romance Author from New Jersey with her husband and their two children. Her other interests are gardening, hiking with a camera slung on her shoulder, and knitting.

She is a woman with a passion for life.

Her published works were The Scale, Need You Now, and Tattooed Hearts called the Martha’s Way series.

Here’s my interview with Mika below.

CL: How did you come up with the idea for Minka?

Minka is actually based on several events that occurred in my life. One was a conversation I overheard in the gym between two very thin women complaining about their weight and there’s one of my closest friends who had a long battle with her weight.

CL: How did you choose the title?

(Laughs) Well, The Scale makes sense. I know it’s not a typical romance title, but The Scale fit. I was actually asked to change it by someone and I said no.

CL: Who is your favorite character in your book and why?

There’s a piece of me in each one of them. I don’t know if I can say favorite, but I can say who is more like me and that would be Lily.

CL: Describe your writing process.

I have an admission, I can’t start a story until I have the title. Weird, I know. Then I need to understand my characters, their personalities. Once I have those two, I can start writing.

CL: Who are some authors who have influenced you?

I have an eclectic taste. Anita Shreve and Truman Capote are two of my favorite authors. I have a thing for Bella Andre as well, Nora Roberts, Maya Angelou. So many.

CL: What made you want to become an Author?

I’ve been writing for a very long time. I’ve always loved books. I just love bringing characters to life and have a reader connect with one of my stories.

CL: What advice would you give to other aspiring writers?

Stay true to yourself and don’t be generic.

CL: Thank you.

Mika: Thanks so much for the questions.

Where to get information and to follow her: Website, Facebook, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

An Author Interview with Mika Jolie

Mika Jolie is a Women’s Fiction, Chick Lit and Contemporary Romance Author from New Jersey with her husband and their two children. Her other interests are gardening, hiking with a camera slung on her shoulder, and knitting.

She is a woman with a passion for life.

Her published works were The Scale, Need You Now, and Tattooed Hearts called the Martha’s Way series.

Here’s my interview with Mika below.

CL: How did you come up with the idea for Minka?

Minka is actually based on several events that occurred in my life. One was a conversation I overheard in the gym between two very thin women complaining about their weight and there’s one of my closest friends who had a long battle with her weight.

CL: How did you choose the title?

(Laughs) Well, The Scale makes sense. I know it’s not a typical romance title, but The Scale fit. I was actually asked to change it by someone and I said no.

CL: Who is your favorite character in your book and why?

There’s a piece of me in each one of them. I don’t know if I can say favorite, but I can say who is more like me and that would be Lily.

CL: Describe your writing process.

I have an admission, I can’t start a story until I have the title. Weird, I know. Then I need to understand my characters, their personalities. Once I have those two, I can start writing.

CL: Who are some authors who have influenced you?

I have an eclectic taste. Anita Shreve and Truman Capote are two of my favorite authors. I have a thing for Bella Andre as well, Nora Roberts, Maya Angelou. So many.

CL: What made you want to become an Author?

I’ve been writing for a very long time. I’ve always loved books. I just love bringing characters to life and have a reader connect with one of my stories.

CL: What advice would you give to other aspiring writers?

Stay true to yourself and don’t be generic.

CL: Thank you.

Mika: Thanks so much for the questions.

Where to get information and to follow her: Website, Facebook, and Twitter

Leave a Reply

