The Music In Me

Singing is always been my first love before writing and before studying human behavior or psychology, the psychology of love, dancing, and last but not the least playing the piano.  

So when I found out my mom enrolled me to take piano lessons, I was so angry. Because the time I gave to  the piano was supposed to be for singing. 

As time goes by, deep inside me, it grew on me too. 

Even if I did stop taking lessons, I promised myself that I will still play so what I know and the skill will never go to waste. 

1st pic is my attendance card for my piano lessons in Yamaha School of Music, 2nd is music sheet of Sonatina in C Major Op. 36 Mov. 1, 3rd is my Sonatina Clementi book, and our piano Rubenstein. The 1st pic in the wall is my ballet recital, and the 2nd pic is when I took my first communion. 

I will never love piano like singing, but it’s still an important part of my life and such an important skill. And last but not the least, my parents paid for the lessons for five years. 

The favorite piece I love to play is Sonatina in C Major Op. 36 movement 1-4 by Clementi. I’ve been missing playing it in Sta. Rosa last year so I listen to it everyday and imagining myself playing it. 

When I started working in Sta.Rosa Laguna in August 2016 to April 2017, due to preparing medications, my right hand developed a disease called Tenosynovitis

Tenosynovitis is the inflammation of the fluid-filled sheath (called the synovium) that surrounds a tendon. Symptoms of tenosynovitis include pain, swelling and difficulty moving the particular joint where the inflammation occurs.

In 15 days, we work for 13 days and earns less than a hundred dollars for two weeks and we don’t have an HMO card. What I’m earning is not enough to shoulder my medical bills. 

It’s really disappointing because I’m learning to play a new song called Wicked Always Wins by Rebecca Mader. 

In January, I decided to give it a break, thinking my hand will heal itself, but I was wrong especially when I started working at the Medical Records. 

I found out since April that I can’t carry much heavier objects like I used to, I can’t write properly, and I can’t play the piano effectively like I used to. It’s very frustrating!  It’s like my ability to play regressed in 3 years.  I couldn’t even finish playing 8 bars without my hand hurting and stiffening. 

Here’s to hoping I won’t need surgery, but I’m willing to do everything it takes to restore my hand’s function to its former state. 

Leave a Reply

